Ski tuning trend works for me works until it doesn't

Waternut

• Baller

So I've been skiing the course now for about 12 years and have been on 8 different skis in that time from the old MPD, variety of Radars, and D3's. Radar skis seem to suit me the best but this isn't a brand question, it's a ski tuning problem. As I was struggling with my latest ski, I started to dive back into old setups to see what has worked in the past. What I found was rather staggering... Every ski I've ever been on, I start with the stock recommended settings and through many changes, they have all ended up with the boots all the way back or very close to it and a short/deep fin setup. When I say short/deep, I'm talking very close numbers where all of the settings fall within +/- 0.005" from each other. So I put the current ski within that range and like magic, it started to ski fantastic. The ski was doing so good that for the first time since ACL surgery 3 years ago, I started getting into 35off again. 

Here's where the problem starts... Once I get into that magic zone with the fin where the ski feels fast, stable, and effortless, I start to blow the tail on my offside when I get late. Granted it only happens when I'm late and aggressively trying to get back in the game but it's not a friendly fall. I've got skijay's book on the fin whispering but I'm not sure where to go from here. Seems like the obvious thing to do is to move the bindings forward a little to help unload the fin but that usually makes me break at the waist and/or overload my back leg which happens to be my bad knee and I'll begin to wince from pain by the second set. 

Any ideas?   besides the obvious "suck less"...

• Baller