Similar ski to Connelly V???

maverick

• Baller
I've been skiing a Connelly V for the past 3 years, and am enjoying it immensely. I ski open water exclusively, and at 6' 2" and 250#, its combo of size, shape, and soft flex seem to make it an ideal ski for how I ski. My brother (an inch shorter and now 25# lighter) has been skiing a Sixam for the past 3 years, but has slowly outgrown the ski as his weight has climbed, to the point that he skis my Connelly V a helluva lot better than his Sixam. He's looking to purchase something similar in feel and performance to the Connelly V, but would prefer to go with a different ski so between the 2 of us we have two different skis to play with. He skied the Radar Theory last year and wasn't overly impressed, and we both skied the Senate this morning but couldn't get a very good read on that ski because of the binding setup on this ski. Looking for suggestions on what to look at, and am wondering how the Carbon V differs from the standard V, and what advantages one may have over the other as an open water ski. Thoughts?

The Strada-based (2012-2013) Senate and Theory are, essentially, the same except the theory is .20" wider than the Senate so the Theory would hold you higher in the water than the Senate at a given speed. The new Senate is based on the new Vapor shape, only .20" wider.

I ride a '13 Senate-C in open water and love it. There was a brief adjustment period over my previous 30 yr old Jobe but now it's clearly superior in every way. I would recommend it or a Theory all day long.

• Baller