Rear toe plate for better body position?

david_quail

Hi guys/gals,

I'm a newbie - started last fall, and currently *almost* but not quite running 15 off @ 30mph. So humbled and inspired by you shortliners ...

My focus thus far (much because of the advice on these forums) has almost exclusively been body position.

I am using double boots, but am wondering if there are people that feel they need to use a rear toe plate to get a slight heal lift to achieve proper body alignment?

I consider myself to be very flexible - in particular in my ankles - but it seems like I'm able to a) "stand tallest" when I give myself a bit of a lift and b) put the appropriate amount of weight on my front foot. Which has gotten me thinking about switching to a RTP.

Maybe there's others anatomically similar to me??? Or maybe there's something else flawed in my stance? ca02l3cp18oy.jpg

92dup05a4pwb.jpg

• Baller

I find most beginners are too rear foot dependent and put too much weight there. Whether or not a toe loop is the right choice my guess is more front foot would do you some good at your level.

I'm not flexible in my ankles and run a toe loop as I heel lift in the pre-turn.

• Baller_
@david_quail You are at the beginning of your slalom carrier. Ditch the double boots before it's to late. You are correct in how you can stand taller. Over the past year I have leaned a great deal and am now convinced that there is a significant advantage to the rear heal being able to freely lift. After 30yrs of double boots, I am transitioning to a rear toe kick. To late for me as it will now take a looong time to get used to it but I can already feel the difference.

• Baller
I all boils down to personal preference, but I will add - After watching my son last year (Boys 2). He went from Reflex front w r style rear, reflex front to rubber rear full boot, then went back to rear kicker with a reflex front. His performance went up significantly with the kicker, if you can run it, use it

• Baller