Best Beginner Combo Skis For Adults 130 lbs + Need Help Please

BrianKennedy91

• Baller

I recently was trying to teach an adult to ski. I was using a pair of Obrien combo skis with adjustable heel piece rubber type bindings. I feel I am a pretty good coach and boat driver for teaching people to ski. The person was semi athletic and of normal weight to height ratio so I expected this to be a breeze. Over about 25 attempts with most times the result being the skier popped up on top of the water but had trouble balancing on the skis. I was so surprised they were having so much trouble but I just figured we should try again another day. Just out of coincidence the combo skis were on the dock and I decided to ski on them. I ride jump skis often but it had probably been 35 years since I had been on any type of combo skis. I was shocked at how difficult if felt for me to ski on the combos. They seemed to be very slick and the little bid of rubber they call a binding was terrible. It felt like the skis were constantly trying to come off and absolutely no ankle support. I also felt that it was very uncomfortable that there was no padding underneath the feet. All this from the point of view of someone used to skiing on good slalom and jump binders. I decided to do some searching of Overton's and Bart's websites in search of the best combo skis money could buy and I didn't see anything that looked even close to being much better than what I currently had. I'm wondering if anyone out there has decided to step back in time and play around on some combo skis they my have hanging in the rafters of the boathouse and let me know what you think.

If there is anyone out there who knows what the best combo skis are that would have the best shape, size and binding comfort and security I would really like to know what is best and where to purchase. I'm willing to spend even $300-$400 or more if it will be a help to teaching a new person to ski.

• Baller