Fluid Motion E-Series vs Radar Strada Boots

Ryno

I've been running Radar Strada Boots on my ski for the last 15 months, and although I've been very happy with them as a whole, a couple of things concerned me.

Firstly the durability - the RADAR Logo on my front boot has cracked and fallen apart, which at first I thought was just cosmetic, however the seam where the rubber at the back joins the boot has started to split.

Secondly the release - I like the control provided by having the front laces fairly snug, but in this state I was concerned about the boot not releasing. I've had a couple of falls where the front foot has only come half out and this has tweaked my ankle.

Obviously the durability issue may have been addressed in the 2012 Strada boot as the logo has gone, but I've already heard reports of the front laces strap splitting, so I didn't want to run the risk of similar problems. I've also had no support when contacting Radar for a replacement under warranty.

The two boots that looked like they would provide a better release in a similar design were the Fluid Motion E-Series and the new O'brien Elite boot. But unfortunately the later is not for sale yet.

So I bit the bullet and contacted Paul at Fluid Motion for an E-Series to replace the front boot. I'm still planning to run my rear Strada, as that boot hasn't shown the same wear compared to the front boot, most likely because I don't run the laces as tight on the rear.

After a few skis on the E-series, I must admit I'm very happy with the purchase. I'm much more connected to the ski than with the Strada and no longer have the fear of the boot not releasing. The boot is also built of materials that should last for many seasons, so I'm confident I won't be looking for a replacement in 12 months time.

In fairness to an honest review, there are some negatives to going down the road of the E-series, these are: