2012 Reflex Boot w/White Cuff

ski4xtc

• Baller

Has anyone tried the new 2012 Reflex Boot with the white cuff? What differences did you notice from previous Reflex Boots? How about the single carbon plates verses the alloy? Anyone switched to the aluminum buckles? How were they to install?

I have an older Reflex with the older 400 series release. It is in pretty good condition except for the buckles. Instead of replacing the old buckles with the same, I would like to have the aluminum buckles. Not sure why they do not come standard with those. Anyway, thinking about upgrading to new boot, buckles, plate and release but would like to hear some input before I spend the big bucks. Thanks in advance for your comments.

• Baller
@Mr. Jones - I have been using it since November/2011 with the strap all loose, about 1 month ago I took it back to the center hole, I did noticed some difference, but really cant tell yet if it is better of worse. Next time I ski I will restrict even more the movement to get a better feeling and will inform you.

• Baller

Interesting. I did not realize the strap was adjustable. I like the idea of the strap to save your achilles in an OTF fall, (Hopefully pulling the release free instead of my tendon doing the same job) but I don't think I want a sudden increase in tip pressure if I push a bit too much forward in the turn.

FWIW CP was still using his old style boot with the top cut down at The Ridge. Haven't seen many pics of any other pros on the white either.

• Baller
I have only skied on the white cuff twice. There is nothing progressive about it. The cuff itself provides no tip pressure till the strap comes tight. Seems like a strap on the regular cuff with the boot tabs intact would provide both a progressive tip load and the safety of the strap in protecting the achilles. Did you guys stick with the white cuff and if not why not? Thanks

• Baller