salt water boats

brody

• Baller
I have been operating in salt water with closed loop cooling for about 20 years (3 different boats) other than a preemptive replacement the exhaust manifolds/risers every 5 years, I never have had any issues. Is the trailer galvanized? If not I would check closely for rust, I only use my trailer twice a year, once in once out, and have had rust issues when I had painted trailers in the past.

• Baller

A closed-system does not necessarily mean a saltwater boat but I would ask the question.

Having grown up on fresh water Lake Placid and now living out here in the fashionable Hamptons (Eastern Long Island, NY) where it is ski in saltwater or nothing.

I would say there is a huge difference...

I can show you 100 year old boats still operating on Lake Placid that look and function better than year old Mastercrafts or Correct Crafts. (As a matter of fact a fellow Baller owns one of them.)

Saltwater corrodes EVERYTHING and electrolysis is a major problem with both trailer & boat electrical systems and every other system. The engines cooling systems should be rinsed out after every use for a minimum of 15 minutes, the ass-end of your car needs to be thoroughly rinsed after every launch and then there is the problem of the steering & control cables stiffening and eventually failing because of the saltwater sloshing around in your bilge as you accelerate and decelerate...

Find a Fresh water boat or get a Helluva deal for all of the replacement parts you are about to buy...

P.S. JackQ you might try Zinc Anode pencils in your exhaust manifolds that will help but you still need to clean the garbage off of the swirlers.... I learned that the hard way.

• Baller

A boat is just a tool to ski with. Salt water may be the only skiing option. Use the boat in salt! Use a salt water boat! Just ski!