Real Eye Opener

mwetskier

• Baller

in a thread about ' Point of reference for gate shot ' @wtrskior posted a youtube video with a go pro mounted on his chest or helmet and @OB pulled a screen cap showing a missed gate. i was so impressed by how he got that single frame i went on line and figured out how to do it. once i started playing around with it if discovered proof of something a good friend has told me for years.

my friend likes to always remind me that when i am skiing the boat is always pulling me downcourse at 53 feet per second if the rope is tight. i think i get that intellectually but its been hard for me to sense it mechanically when i am skiing. today when i pulled out individual frames like @OB did the concept really hit home. here are 3 sequential frames from that @wtrskior video when the skier is crossing the wake at the gate shot. presumably this should be the moment when all the skiers energy and effort is shooting him across course with the greatest angle and greatest resistance to the boats pull.

notice how in the tiny fraction of a second between the first wake and the second wake the skier is pulled down course at least 10 - 12 feet. i see this as absolute proof that we cant cross the wake with nearly as much angle as we think we do.

ir2eijjn4va4.jpg

0e0w549ov8jv.jpg

2xb7zwtlwceu.jpg

• Baller
he had more angle than that at hook up and after but has given most of it back at the wake. possibly trying to get between the gate balls at the last second you see a lot of that with guys who dont pull out wide or turn in with speed. never the less the amount of down course influence the boat has is pretty clear and it is substantial. just reinforces the need for speed through the wakes.

• Administrators