Intermediate trick questions

bbirlew

• Baller

I've been tricking since I was about 12 yrs old (now 38). I've been on the same ski for the last ~20yrs (a rubber edged obrien), and unfortunately my run hasn't changed in 20 years either!!

I'd like to start and invest some time on improving this next summer.

A few questions:

1) is it time to buy a new ski, or would I not notice a difference?

2) I've put on a few lbs and now weigh in at 185. (5'10") Is the 42" still the right size?

My runs are:

B,bb,r,wbb,r,wf,wo,r,wflipb,r

To,tb,tf,twb,twf,ts,r,lb,lf,wlb,wlf,b,f,r,r

3) what would the next logical tricks be to work on? I've tried rev tb a LOT with no success, but that is probably the next building block for my toe pass I guess? How about for hands?

Any advice would be more than welcome.

Thx.

• Baller
You are a good tricker. I will let someone who is much better than I am comment on tricks to learn. I know I bought a new trick a couple of years ago and it was an improvement on my 25 year old EP Wingtip. @eleeski‌ is a big advocate of newer skis and particularly the hard edged skis.

• Baller_

Absolutely a new and bigger ski and a reflex hardshell. I would go to a 44" hard edge and flip a coin between Quantum, D3, and graviton. You will notice a huge difference between any of them and your current ski.

On hands the next tricks would be:

w5F

w5B

WLO

WL5F (in a year or so)

SLB as a fun trick to learn that may or may not go into your run

BFLF (starting in back wrap, landing front)

On toes:

TO wrap in

TWO (you should learn this easily and it's a fun trick)

RTB is critical for advanced toes, but can be hard for adults to learn

If it was easy, they would call it Wakeboarding

• Baller