Speed Control: Stargazer System VS Perfect Pass Digital Pro Upgrade 6.5 w/ Current PP Digital Gauge

Shakeski

End of last season my Dad and I got a 2000 Mastercraft Pro Star with under 500 hours and a new engine in mint condition. The boat's current perfect pass system is a Digital Pro V5.0 year 2000 (stock with the boat from factory). This system is not working (broken) and we are in need of changing to a new system. The question is, what is the main difference between a GPS system and a RPM mode paddle wheel system. (advantages/disadvantages)

We are not new to the watersports scene by any means. We have a 2008 Malibu Wakesetter and have had other ski-boats previous. Having only Malibu boats in the past, we are not as familiar with Perfect Pass or GPS systems. We have a course in our back-yard and are looking to ski 70% in the course 30% open water (barefooting, open water skiing).

Which system makes more sense for the upgrade?

• Baller
I would go with the GPS, I installed it with no existing system in place and it was not that difficult. I understand with a system already in place it is much easier. As far as use hand down the GPS, you input speed, crew weight (this does not change often) and you go. With the older paddle wheel more work and from what I remember from other boats not quite as accurate.

• Baller_
Upgrade to GPS-based. Paddlewheel can get debris caught in it or it can be damaged by striking debris, particularly in a river. GPS is more accurate than paddle wheel, especially with a current. GPS with an accelerometer is more responsive and can maintain a tighter speed tolerance. GPS can provide timing information without magnets.

The worst slalom equipment I own is between my ears.

• Baller_