2001 x star /205v for recreational slalom

Daddyodaman

As the title suggests, I'm curious if anyone has skied behind an early mastercraft X star, the one with the same hull as the prostar 205.

Now I know I'm going to get a bit of "v drives suck for anything but wakeboarding", but given this is effectively highly regarded ski boat just with the engine in the back, I'm thinking maybe it's gotta be better to ski behind than say a v drive malibu or super air nautique.

I'm not looking at running a course (ever), just being able to ski aggressively behind it at about 30mph (on a river). I'm only a novice skier but hoping to improve, although I'm predominately a wakeboarder, and I want a boat that can do that and take the family and teach the kids to ski and board behind. I'm hoping it skies better than my friends malibu v ride, as that isn't much fun on a ski. I don't do 34 at 22 off or anything like that, I just want to rip it up a bit. Don't worry, I'm not trying to compare an x star to a response, just want opinions. I keep hoping a 205v/ x star/ x2 could work as a crossover?

• Baller

When I was searching around for v drive options, the older mc you are looking at was one that came up as being pretty ok to ski behind. Never seen anyone suggest that the newer x2 are good for skiing, but maybe the old ones are. The only 2 current model good ones are the Malibu vtx and sport nautique 200.

• Baller

at 30mph, any boat with the engine in the back is going to have a pretty big wake....a little faster and it will smooth out some....there will be a big rooster tail.

Since you are doing this for fun, you should experiment with different line lengths to find the best part of the wake.

You could look also look at an X7...decent for wakeboarding with a tower and full ballast....way better for slalom....but not a V-drive.

• Baller