D3 Quest 45 Help please

roberto

I need some guidance with my Q45, I am new to D3 skis. I have around 12 sets experience with this ski, having skied on a 66" A3 for the last two+ years.

To quote from the Johns Quest review....."the odd experience of being very early and narrow at the ball". Very noticeable for me at 32off/34mph. I have 'tripped' over a number of buoys recently and need to avoid this experience.

Summary........RFF , Animal Binding/RTP , 66", factory settings applied and checked:-

29.25" Front binding

6.925"

2.490"

0.755" (flat)

7 deg wing

From the Quest test review the posiible causes are:- the bindings are too far forward or the fin is to far back.

I appreciate technique is always questionable, its possible I am not staying on the handle long enough. But interested to know if anybody has had a similar experience and what was the best solution. (Technique or settings).

Thanks...

• Baller
@roberto I am trying the Quest 45 coming from an original Quest. Only a few sets but I have been smacking buoys all over the place. I do feel the 45 is a lot less work than he original Quest but I can't seem to get comfortable, I feel early but not wide just as described. I am no expert on skis and setup and not any help just reporting a similar experience.

• Baller
I'm on a 68" Quest 45 and it's the best ski I've been on in years by a mile Totally factory on the fin and wing but I just went to the D3 site and I see they have updated the settings. I'm at 6.935, .4515, and .750. It's fast, early, stable and I have space. Bindings are 30.5. Now to be fair I'm skiing at 32MPH (65 years old) but for the first time in a few years I can run right up the line into 35 off. I have to let off way early to keep from running too wide.

• Baller

@roberto I would consider moving boots back slightly or adding depth (2.500).