Basketball

Razorskier1

• Baller

Ya, off topic, I know. Was just reflecting on the sport that was my first love and thought I'd share something probably none of you would have guessed. By the time I was a sophomore in high school, I started dunking. One-handed, off the run, every time. That was fun! Started working harder. By my senior year, I could get eye-level with the rim and reach over the top of the painted box. Then it got really fun!!! My arsenal at the time included cradles, left-handed, right-handed, two-handed tomahawks, 180s, up and unders, and alley oops. Just after high school playing pick up ball I ripped down a glass backboard with a big two-hander.

Of course, taking a 190 lb guy up in the air and back down all those times is why I have knee problems now!!!

• Baller
@Razorskier1 growing up as a 3-event skier, I always enjoyed playing basketball and continued to do so until I was 16. My coaches were actually quite happy with that off-season sport as they believed that it contained a lot of important aspects that could transfer to skiing, particularly tricking. Spacial awareness, rotations, symmetry of motor skills… Now, we send early teenagers to "work out so that their skiing will be better". Quite a boring off-season endeavor…

Ski coach at Jolly Ski, Organizer of the San Gervasio Pro Am (2023 Promo and others), Co-Organizer of the Jolly Clinics.

• Baller
I miss playing. It's so hard on the knees, back, ego.... I quit playing 3 years ago because of a bulging disc in my lower back. My knees, ankles and back all feel better since then. I feel good enough now that I'm toying with the idea of starting up again. The risk of injury is the main thing holding me back.

• Baller

Don't forget the post-game. Some random 6 foot 5 guy would try to back Jim down in the post only to see the ball get swatted into the stands.

Break away lay-ups???? Not on Jim's watch...chase 'em down and swat it off the back board or into the stands.