Beginning of the year ... drills, free ski, or straight into course?

All booked in to ski tomorrow afternoon up here in frigid Canada and couldn't be more excited!!! Forecast is for 24C and sun!

With the goal of, as always, becoming a better skier and getting around more balls at faster speeds, how do you guys look to start your year after a winter hibernation? I think ideally I'd spend a bunch of time free skiing working on form and technique, before even getting a sniff of the course, but our lake is still under ice, so I'm looking at a couple weeks of skiing at the ski club - 6 sets up and down the course at a time before hopping behind our own boat. Would you still spend the first couple weeks shadowing the course, focusing on form? Would you go up and down the course doing drills (which ones?). Or would you jump right into chasing balls again?

Thanks as always for any advice!

BTW, I'm a beginner skier ... just managed 15 off at 30mph at the end of last year ... perhaps beginning of the year strategy is highly dependent on skill level.

• Baller
You should start with open water and land practice to try and work on form, it is always hard to think about technique while you're chasing buoys. That said, I personally can never resist the call of the course if the water is nice.

• Baller
I think a balance of course and open water throughout the season can be helpful both from a fitness standpoint and for technical work. I find that wind conditions in the spring often don't favor my course, so I ski open water when the course is blown out just to be on the ski, get in shape, and work on the "little things" that make me a better course skier.

• Baller

@david_quail I would highly recommend free skiing quite a bit! One of the things skiers don't realize is that it MAKES a difference how many turns and pulls one does in a set. This is so not only on a fitness level, but also on a technical level!