Wow.... I suck.

FSSPCat

• Baller

Okay, so I have been skiing for many years (24, slalom for 17). We have always open water skied as we don’t have access to a course on our lake. We usually ski at around 34mph and 15-22 off. It’s for fun, exercise and comradery. I joined a ski club this year and wow am I awful. I’m getting 3 balls at 15 off, 28mph.

What are the first 3 things to consider when learning how to ski the course? We don’t have a Wake Eye or any footage.

I really want to get better, but I am definitely out of my scope of knowledge when it comes to skiing the course.

• Baller

It is very eye opening when you first start into the course. Here's some things that I did.

Ask someone to video you so you can visually see what you're doing and compare to what you see better skiers doing. Hand held with cell phone is good. Compare to others at 15 off instead of pros at shortline

Timing is important, learn the swing and speed required. It's better to ski inside a ball and maintain timing than to try and make the ball and screw yourself up.

Focus most on position behind the boat, be strong here and speed and width will improve.

4th tip - practice outside the course using drills. Great drills can be found by searching discussions and youtube.

• Baller

I think the most important thing is to keep it fun. Skiing the course is a challenge and a very humbling experience. At the end of the day as long as your doing it for the fun, exercise and comradery then your in good shape. Just don't loose focus from that.

Grab an iphone and take some video and post on youtube for constructive criticism.

• Baller

Yep, shadow the buoys helps a lot, you need to get a sense of the rhythm. From there you can start pushing wider towards the buoys and eventually be going around them.