Malibu French Open webcast

Andre

• Administrators

I wonder of the event organizers knew that the webcast would show the boat video in slow motion. You can see the boat paths reasonably well. Looking back from the boat does not show the path nearly as well as end coarse but it is an indicator.

Before anyone loses their $H*t at me - Go back and watch the replay.

• Baller

@Bill22 no worries. Came to this thread for link.

@Horton yeah... Use the little gear icon in the lower right corner to slow playback to .25 speed and...

I will say though that looking at propwash probably isn't the best indicator as that should always look a little wavy as the boat is pulled over from side to side and the thrust is adjusted to compensate. Could make it look way worse than it is.

• Baller
@Horton I am no pro driver but I imagine that at 41 the driver has to point the nose of the boat away from the skier. The wake spray will look like it's not straight but the pylon may still be in the center.

Hi guys the boat driving looks pretty spot on. I’m not sure if they had the real time end course with live measurement buoy by buoy monitored constantly by a senior judge, we used in Italy at the week end, The boat is moving away from the current turn to compensate the skier. It’s also a Malibu boat which has a counter clockwise rotating prop and sends it rooster more down the left of the course when you compensate hard. I think you would be amazed what goes on in the boat ?

.. it ant big dawg??

• Baller

check out the overhead drone cam on the Denali homepage to see how propwash makes it look like the pull is being soft-sided. The boat pivots and the prop wash moves but the pylon stays pretty well centered. There's one correction mid-course in that vid that's pretty substantial but the rest of it seems close to centered.

https://www.denaliskis.com/

• Baller