Front of ski washes out on my on-side. What the first thing to try different

swbca

• Baller_

I have had limited chances on testing and adjusting a ski that is new to me. Its a 67" D3 ION with factory settings for a 165lb skier.

I was skiing with some friends who are 35off skiers at 32mph and 36mph. They say I am riding too far back all the time specifically through the wake. There were 2 years in the past when I never missed 35off/34 in tournaments, but now I am a NOVICE restarting at age 75 at 32mph.

Right Foot Forward | on-side problems:

When I try to stay centered over the ski approaching and through the wake the front doesn't hold and have to quickly adjust to avoid a rib-cracking fall into the wake.

When I pull off to the right and just hang with a strong pull in a position to the right of boat, the front just gives way and I fall.

When I try to engage the tip on my on-side turn with any speed, the front doesn't engage as expected.

Been reading the Fin-Whisperer. Having the front wash out can be from bindings to far forward - but its not that simple.

What's the first thing to try ?

• Baller_
Assuming you are setup at “factory” settings, based on your descriptions and without seeing video I would say the first thing to try is a different ski. If you are struggling that much it’s likely that ski simply doesn’t match your style.

If it was easy, they would call it Wakeboarding

• Members

Video from the POV of the pylon can prove or disprove this thought, but I'm betting that your handle/hands are not properly aligned with your body while crossing the wake. Even if you have a perfectly aligned body "stack", if your hands are out in front of you as you cross behind the boat (instead of aligned with your stack's centerline) you are gonna overload the front of the ski and risk the kind of fall you are describing.