Newb question about ski size

Lebow-ski

• Baller

Hi All!
New to the forum here. I grew up on the water and started skiing at age 4 and competed (albeit not very competitively) from age 14 to 17 (regionals in Ont Canada). Moved away for school, work, etc., and for a l-o-n-g time lacked the time, money and opportunity to ski. Then I spent a good chunk of time at a friend’s cottage last summer and got back on the water for the first time in ages, and realized 2 things: (1) for an older guy who hasn’t skied in ages, I was a way better that I expected, and (2) I need to make skiing a part of my life again. 
So, I’m in the market for new equipment, which has changed massively while I wasn’t looking, and I have the weird feeling of being a complete newb in a place that used to be so familiar. I joined the forum for advice on what I expect will be many questions (about equipment purchase and set up, techniques, etc.).

First off, ski size. I run about 165lb, which puts me in the middle of a 66 or 67 inch size for most of the skis I’m looking at. I’d be grateful for advice about the expected tradeoffs in the choice of ski size…presumably the 66 would run deeper, etc., but I’m guessing there’s much more to it.

Brian

• Baller

What speed are u skiing? At slow speeds a longer ski will be needed to achieve similar performance to a shorter ski at higher speeds. Just starting out again, I’d definitely have you consider a 67 also. Some skis are absolutely terrible at slow speeds but come alive at higher speeds and shorter lines. Bottom line I wouldn’t be committed to only a 66 . Ride the longest ski you can effectively turn . The works best is on a 67 and he weighs same or less than you 

• Like 1

• Baller