Can I buy a ski too good for me?

Tuney

I am looking to buy a new ski and I was hoping that some of you may be willing to lend me your advice.

I have been skiing for about 10 years so I consider myself a competant skier but I have no course experience so I cannot accurately guage my skill level for you. Also my only formal training is from my dad when I was starting out so my technique will be less than perfect. Nonetheless, I ski at 34-36MPH and I like to think I can rip it in open water on the hand-me-down ski I'm riding haha.

I have been reading up on two ski's, the Radar RS-1 and the Connolly Prophecy but I am open to other suggestions. I want to buy a high end ski that I can hold onto for awhile and I have read a lot of good about the RS-1 but I have also read that your technique has to be spot on to ride it. Whereas I have read that the prophecy is quite forgiving, should this be a selling point for a person like myself? 

Unfortuantely I don't know how forgiving of a ski I need as I don't have the means to demo a ski. Are the elite ski's only made for the elite riders or do people like myself have success with a ski like an RS-1?

What country do you live in?

It's a hard question to answer. Some people go from one side of a set of combos directly onto a Monza and get destroyed. They need something more like a Triumph. Others, get and stay on a triumph for a long time and don't know/realize they are ready for a higher performing ski. Yet others ski well on an MPD (for example), but don't know (until they try for some fluke reason) that they actually ski even better on a Senate.

I tend to think that if you are pretty stable and don't rock around much, you can get onto a pretty high end ski and be okay. But you never know until you try. However, if you have to guess and get it right on the first shot, a Senate C would be a safer bet from Radar.