How do I stay more upright going across the wake on my off side

kfennell

So I am having a hard time keeping form across the wake on my offside and I subsequently get pulled over the front as seen in this youtube video.

Ward has given me alot to think about, as have a few other skiiers, but maybe if someone puts the wording different something will click, if I could just stay leaned back across the wake, and not backfoot every third offside gate I would make a huge improvement overnight.

Thanks

Kevin

• Baller

Kevin.  Although I'm far from an expert here is what works for me.  At the finish of the turn, when I bring my hand back to the handle I load the arm I just brought back to the handle more than the other which pulls your shoulders around and more square down course.  This also has the effect of bringing my hips more forward (up) automatically putting me in a more stacked position.  Combine that with working on getting and keeping your elbows down and in on your hips, which puts the handle lower on your core giving you a lot more leverage, and you're good to go.  I hope that made sense.

Ed

Kevin, Great job! Sounds like you have got some Good advice to wk. with. So I'll only suggest that you work on trying to find the correct positioning of i.e. "Hips up,"  "Handle Low,"  "Sq. to the boat," etc... by practicing on open water while freeskiing. The course has enuf things to try to manage on it's own. A proper Leveraged position (Stacked) will be so much easier to find and drill on open water if you can get out there. In fact, most all course disciplines should be smoothed and polished outside of the distractions of the Buoys...

Good Luck!

• Baller