Lower Back Pain

TSki

• Baller

I know this isn't a medical forum but I am wondering if anyone else here may have had common problems to what I'm experiencing. I've been skiing the course for 6-7 years now and only in the last 2 years or less I have started to experience some more noticeable lower back pain. It tends to flair up the day after I ski, whether it be slalom or trick, and is what I'd describe as a dull ache. I am fairly young (25 yrs old) so I am hoping to figure out a remedy for this in the hopes that I can have a long life of skiing.

I'm not sure if the issue is that I have a weak core (which I'm pretty certain I do) or if it is some other issue. When I do core workouts at home I actually am getting the same type of pain that I experience from skiing but to a lesser degree. That's the only thing that makes me wonder if it's something other than a weak core. I'm wondering if I should just charge ahead with trying to get my core in shape or if I should seek medical attention to make sure I'm not aggravating something when I am trying to get it stronger. Any advice is seriously appreciated. Thanks guys.

• Baller_
I would add.. If your skiing and hanging on to slack and taking hits, your asking for long term issues. Learn to toss the handle and live to ski another day. I know I wish I had learned that in my 20s. It's a painful lesson later on in life if you don't.

• Baller

If you can find a Kinesiologist/Chiro, even better. Skiing involves so many muscles, and if they are not firing properly, it will knot you up.

We have 2 in Toledo area, and the KC set my back straight after everyone else failed.