New to trick skiing questions

FrankS

I am new to trick skiing and can only do simple surface turns and some wake jumps. I am looking to become a better trick skier so what should i start working on next?

Also, I am currently skiing on a very old 41" ski that I had to drill into to put a back binding on as it was from a pair of two trick skis and didn't have a back binding. I am 180 and according to the D3 website that is not right. Would getting a new ski be helpful? If so what model/size? Do any of you have any skis that you would be willing to sell?

Thanks

• Baller

A new ski would definitely help. You could probably go with either a 43 or 44 inch ski. The 44 would be easier to do surface turns on but wouldn't be as good for flips and tougher wake tricks. Used trick skis tend to be hard to find.

The basic surface turns are side slides, 180 front to back and back to front. The reverse of those. Surface 360s both ways. Next up would be turns off the wake to both sides. There are people on here that know a lot more than I do and I am sure they will chip in. Have fun with it.

I'd suggest a 43" ski (42" at a minimum). A rubber edges ski is probably more 'universal' and would be my first choice until you start getting into more advanced tricks. Use the factory recommended binding placement for the front binding (IMPORTANT! - Binding screws are SHORTER for trick skis than they are for slalom skis!!). Any binding that's comfortable (but snug) will do as long as it's non-adjustable. Many are opting for a hard shell binding but a good Wiley Trick Wrap will be fine too (but less comfortable). Rear binding should be mounted 45 degrees +/- so your foot is essentially 'centered' over the ski. Put the front binding on and stand where you're comfortable and have someone mark it for the rear binding placement.