Help me help my girlfriend!!!

tbrenchley

So my girlfriend is really getting into skiing and wants to get better which is awesome. She never skied before we started dating and just got her own slalom ski about 6 weeks ago. She runs our version of the mini course (1,3,5 and boat guides for 2,4,6) up to 30mph and is now trying the full course at 23mph. The only problem is that I'm a much better teacher for someone at 35 off than I am for someone who is just starting the full course plus I'm driving most of the time so I don't get to watch her each time. I just want to see what some of the ballers on here do for brand new skiers either dry land training and skiing drills that might help her progress at a faster rate. I might post a video a little later when I get some footage but any advice is appreciated.

At her speed, she has to pull all the way to the turn - she will not glide at all. Also, she has to "aim" for a point about 20-feet upcourse of the ball, or else she will be late every time. She should also exaggerate the handle position low on her rear hip on her "pulls" through the wake. That will keep her body position intact without having to think about it too much. Most of the time the novice skier literally stands up at the turn, she has to stay low - bending the ankles forward without bending at the waist. If near Grand Rapids, MI, look me up.

• Baller
The biggest challenge is to get them to ski with their hips up and fall back against the boat. Dryland practice or hook up the bridle to the pylon on the far side of the loop (lets them lean over more) and practice the hips up arms straight, handle on hip feel.

• Baller