What's the best way to progress in the course?

aswinter05

• Baller

My wife and I have big hopes this ski season. Hoping to really get a grasp on the course.

My question is what's the best way to continuously challenge ourselves in the course as we improve?

Right now I'm at 30mph and my wife is at 27mph. (15-off'ers).

Should we stay at 15-off and slowly increase the boat speed as we get better? (before shortening the line)

OR...

Should we keep the same speed and keep shortening the line? (and then increase speed later)

I'm new to this, so all input is appreciated. Thanks ballers

amen on keeping it fun. I found it helpful to put the PP in practice mode and increase by 1 mph or even 0.5 mph at a time. I learned when tired instead of pushing it I would just back it down to an easier speed and run through them 6 in a row. Instead of going for PB every time have times when you're just running buoys for fun.

There is some very Good practice to be found in slower speeds. (I do it all the time and many, many Pro's have and do as training drills.) But, this is optimally done with a wider (larger surface area) Ski. i.e. 30-32mph on a Radar Theory can be a Huge benefit to learning technique AND Shorter line. 1st priority is always in creating a sound foundation technically. But WTS, one can ski 15 off til the Cows come Home and it will never totally prepare them for -22 and especially have little use in preparing for -28. But, -22 or 28 at max speed would just be overwhelming and trying it at max. speed would only serve to practice Scrapping survival mode.

With a Theory, one can ski @ 30mph and shorten line to begin to get a real feel of the greatly increased need for a proper Stacked position, the increased crosscourse speed and Real edge changes which allows one to begin to learn the need for Handle Control and Outbound direction in the pre-Turn... Most of which never really happens at -15.