How to get good DFT measurement?

Bill22

• Baller

Is there a video on BOS or youtube of how to correctly measure a fin?

I am a rookie at setting a fin. I am able to get consistent length and depth measurements. But with the DFT measurement, I found that if the calipers are just a very small amount off level with the ski, the #’s can vary. BTW I am just setting my ski to stock. I know newbies are not supposed to adjust from stock #.

Maybe it would be a good idea to have a link in the FAQ to a good ski setup video.

• Baller
Slot caliper is the easiest. Agreed,it's the toughest measurement to get right consistently. Just try to hold the caliper tight against the bottom of the ski. For me it's easier to stand the ski on its tip while taking the measurement.

• Baller
I have always wondered...the bottom back of the ski is beveled. Do you measure to the initial curvature of the bevel on the bottom of the ski or do you just slide the caliper until it hits the bevel wherever it happens to land on the back of the ski?

• Baller

I was too cheap to buy a real slot caliper so I made my own. Regardless of the design, there are some crucial steps to maintaining consistent measurements. This is my method... First, look at the angle of the calipers when you lay them flat on the ski and try to measure DFT. Hold it flat on the ski but don't bow the calipers down. Raise the calipers up the fin trying to keep that same angle and zero the calipers. Close the calipers and they should display a negative number. WRITE THAT NUMBER DOWN because that is your new set point for all measurements to come.

Since I just cut a cheapo HF caliper, I use that as my dedicated DFT caliper so the set point never changes but if it does, I can put it right back and get the exact same DFT measurement I had before.

• Baller_