Vest Recommendation (weird requirements)

DefectiveDave

• Baller

I've been using a loose fitting CGA vest for the past several years. It works its way up, doesn't quite fit right, and in general has kind of sucked. I've tried to upgrade several times to a slim non-CGA, but have never quite found anything that fit well because I have an unusual body shape. Recently the vest has started rashing up my arms really badly and I definitely need to find a replacement this time.

My main problem with slim non-CGA vests is that they tend to compress my stomach. I have a narrow chest, and distended lungs due to a chest disorder (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pectus_excavatum), so my stomach expands much more than normal to make room for my lungs. I am not able to breath very well when wearing those vests. Also I tend to sink almost below water level when wearing a non-CGA vest, but I can deal with that part. Really my only two hard requirements would be:

-Doesn't rash arms near triceps

-Doesn't compress stomach when wearing

It may even fit loose and work it's way up, so long as it fits those requirements it would be a great improvement. Is there anything available either CGA or non-CGA which might work? There are no real water sports stores around here where I can try stuff on. Thanks in advance!

• Baller

I don't really have an issue with any vest material giving me rashes until I wear it for a long time....3 or more sets in a single day. Typically after the first rash day, I haven't had much trouble.

Could always wear a rash guard shirt if that's a big concern for you though.

• Baller

@Waternut,

Are you referring to the friction rash where the arms meet the vest?

I only get to ski once a week right now, so I ski as much as I can every time I go out. These past few excursions I've skied 5 sets/day. Skiing only once a week, I don't seem to build a tolerance to anything. I've even been getting spray leg again!

• Baller