Slalom Course Advice For Public Water

WIRiverRat

• Baller

I have been putting a course on a public river for the past two years and am getting tired of having to fix something every time we go out and ski. I have introduced a new ski partner to skiing the course and he has access to divers/survey equipment and is willing to help install a permanent course. We have two challenges that I hoping someone has experience with:

(1) River levels fluctuate 5 feet from spring to fall so the course needs to be adjustable.

(2) When the river is low part of the course is only 4.5ft deep. With the need to allow the bouy to raise up we can't just do the traditional subfloat to a line with a counterweight.

My thought is to use an augered earth anchor at each bouy. Attached a triple pulley block to that and run SS cable to another triple pulley block on a sub float. This way for every foot the subfloat goes up or down the bouy could move 6 feet. Has anyone ever tried a set up like this? Suggestions for augers? Suggestions for a pulley that will withstand a river?

I would really like to keep my sanity and spend time skiing instead of course maintenance.

Thanks

• Baller