Weird Engine Issue

ESPNSkier

• Baller

I have a 1993 MasterCraft ProStar 205 with an Indmar 351 with about 1,100 hours on it and it has been running great. However, last week as I was coming into the course the engine blew out the spark plug in cylinder #2. As it turns out I have a cracked head and I'm replacing both heads. The weirdness happened when I pulled the heads and discovered that the piston in Cylinder #6 (2nd cylinder on the port bank) is rotated upside down. If you look closely at the 2nd image you can see the word "Up" and an arrow....pointing down! I have owned the boat for more than 19 years and the engine has never been apart so I assume that it was assembled with one piston reversed at the factory. Should I be concerned or just put the new heads on and hope for another 1,100 hours?qzhhvet2xdu8.jpg

r1e2fjmzlbkk.jpg

• Baller
I would change it around if you are going to put new heads on it. The clearances won't be the same, and it wasn't right in the first place. I know it means pull the engine, but will be a piece of mind in the long run. You can leave it, but I wouldn't. Easy to pull....Git er dun!

• Baller
Since you have it all down to this level I'd pull it and rotate that piston- it's just not right. Kind of a testament to the tractor nature of those motors, but still you aren't that far away from correcting what was a factory major faux pas.

• Baller
Turn it around, there is more to pistons than meet the eye. For instance bore for the piston bolt could be assymetrically positioned. The recesses are not for valve clearance they are combustion chambers. probably has a slight efffect on intake and exhaust breathing of that cylinder as well as mixture when the chamber is assymetrical like that ( looks like it ran a little richer than the others)

• Baller