MENS 8 SPEED DILEMMA

OldGuysRule

• Baller
Now that Nationals are over, I'm trying to come to terms with the new rule from USA Water Ski concerning Mens 8 speed. If I remember correctly at my advanced age, the maximum speed for Mens 8 will now go up to 32 miles per hour in order to be in agreement with the IWWF. I've been skiing 30 mph for a couple of years and now trying to decide whether to go 32 or stay at 30 and suffer a six buoy penalty. Any other Mens 8 skiers out there having this same dilemma?

• Baller

Disclaimer: I' m men5.

I think 32 is too fast for men 8.

30 should be plenty fast. Falls are harder,more chance of injuries and it s more fun to shorten the line then to speed up.

My 2 Canadian cents..

My ski finish in 16.95 but my ass is out of tolerance!

• Baller

You guys who have been in M8 for a couple of years or more have my sympathy. This year (2018) was my first year in M8 and knowing I would have to go back to 32, I just stayed there. If you think about it it was a strange setup anyway. M7 was the only Mens age division in AWSA to have a speed just for that one division. In other words, 34 M3-M6, 32 for M7 and then 30 for M8-M10. Ok, M11 is by itself also, but....

Personally, I could never get a handle on 30. I guess I just lack the finer skills required for that speed. And yes, you'd better have some handle control to run 35 off at 30!

• Baller

I don't recall but does zero based scoring apply at Regionals and Nationals? If it does apply just stay at 30 mph there is no real penalty unless you could run 32 off for example at 30 mph and 32 mph.

I have been skiing 30 mph this year so far on a Radar Katana and it has been a lot of fun. I ran 32 off the other day for the first time and it was definitely not as hard on my body. Unfortunately I am 52 so I have a ways to go before I can be competitive in M8.

• Baller_

I hear the jumpers like the increased speed.