Let the ski finish the turn

ESPNSkier

• Baller
So, I'm just getting started again after yet another long injury-driven absence and am back at 15 off and trying to regain some form. I know that I'm bending at the waist and reaching for the handle too early coming out of 1-3-5 and was recently told to "let the ski finish the turn" before grabbing the handle. This makes perfect sense but I am struggling with how to make this happen out on the water. Any advice on things that I should be doing....or not doing....that would help in allowing the ski to come around a bit more before I grab the handle?

• Baller

What works for me, and of course it's slalom skiing so your results may be different, is telling myself to leave the handle out there. I don't allow myself to pull the handle in at all unless I'm way out of sorts.

Incidentally, focusing heavily on this this year has cured me of a 3 year presence of medial epicondylitis.

• Baller
Hard to finish the turn correctly without starting it correctly. Most of our issues are from previous mistakes. Letting the handle out early makes it very hard to ski back around to it. People talk about getting stacked , but without keeping the elbows in and staying on the handle into the turn , it is tough to come out of the turn in a good stacked position. What Regina is doing into the turn is probably the most important thing to study. Staying on the handle shoots you into the turn.

• Administrators

@ESPNSkier

There is always the temptation to try to pull yourself around when the ski is not arcing on its own. My guess is that because of whatever bad things are happening with your technique are keeping the ski from turning on its own and then you are panicking - grabbing for the handle.

So chances are it is not a matter of just being more patient. If your shoulders are forward and your hips are back then that is the core issue.

• Baller