Ski Suggestion?

giantjoe

Hi! I've been off the site for a while, but this summer I got very into skiing again. Above is a sample of my skiing (2000 Mastercraft X-5 @ 34mph 15' off using a Radar P-6). Below is a history lesson...

I've been skiing for about 10 years. When I started, I was 6'6" and about 230-235. Started with a 69" HO CFR Charger (circa2010). I liked the ski for as much as I knew, but wanted to learn the course. @Chris Rossi suggested I use a P-6 at low speed to learn the course, so I got one and used it. In fact, I used it exclusively and never touched the Charger again. Until this year... I lost 30ish pounds, and my strength has increased a bunch.

I feel that the P-6 is a nice feeling ski, but crossing the wake is a bounce-fest. The Charger seems to me to cut too sharply. It feels like it wants to make j-turns, while I would prefer a s-type turn. I only open water ski as the lake will not permit a course, but I do like to try to stitch 7 turns together in rapid succession. I think I'll be keeping the weight off, so it makes sense that I'd like a shorter ski as well as a thinner profile. I am open to all thoughts and suggestions (and of course critique of my video).

I'm under the impression right now, that RADARs allow you to choose your turn radius depending on your lean angle, while other skis have their set radius that you have to adapt to.

thanks in advance

• Baller

Well that's the best part about the Radar product offering. In theory, you can just move right up the line and have each ski feel familiar, but just a little more aggressive than the last one.

If you wanted to go just one step up you could go to a Union. But if you're going to keep skiing at 34 mph, it would probably be better to do the next step after that, which would be a senate.