Anyone see a course this messed up?

david_quail

cyvpflgcvcoj.jpeg

I’ve inherited maintenance of a course. It’s been spliced together a dozen times - mainline and pvc. I guess the mainline snapped last year and the wind dragged it in all types of direction.

No idea how to actually untangle without bringing onto shore (and no idea what these cans were tied on for).

Hence my earlier post about upgrading to a new one ...

What. A. Mess.

• Baller
Far from being an expert, I think most courses have a mainline and diamond shaped cables around the turn buoy arms. See this picture for instance. Can you identify at least one end of the course and try to untangle from there? The cans may have been added to help float the arms.

• Baller
Those "cans" were put there to keep the course off the bottom, or to keep the pvc level. They can bow a lot. I can assure you that it cannot be fixed from a jet ski. If it must stay, you can get a few jonboats/floating dock/etc together to work on one section at a time.

• Baller
Works pretty well to run the cable over a row boat cross wise through the oar locks can slide up and down the mainline. You'll need to get that arm out for sure so you can untwist as it looks like the arms probably twisted around the mainline.

• Baller
Agree to pull it all out. Get a wire spool or old hose reel and reel it up on that on land. Then unreel/ deploy in the lake. This will allow every connection to be inspected and updated if need be. Do it right now then enjoy for years to come.

• Baller