Swiss Pro Slalom - Sunday, May 5th, 2024

Click Here for the webcast

Aviv Levy sets new cable ski slalom record at 5@9.50m (44off)

jgills88

• Baller

Just saw on Waterski Nation's instagram that this happened this weekend. I have zero knowledge of cable slalom, but thought this was cool.

Anyone more in the know have more context for what this means for the sport?

- Has Levy competed behind boats?

- How does cable ski compare to traditional 3-Event?

- Any guesses at how well top boat slalomers would do on a cable?

• Baller

I was aware of the activity, but had no idea it was sanctioned by any organization and thus unaware of records, rules, rope lengths or speeds.  Can anyone shed light on these tbings?

Edit:  I did find that IWWF lists "Cableski" as a discipline, however I could find no further info other than one sanctioned event in Sept in Germany.  Couldn't find any reference to rules.

Edited by LeonL

• Baller

https://www.cableski.org/Rules.asp 

Its a mute point however in the US I'm not aware of a single cable park here that has the ability to pull it I've been to a few parks and they can only go about 20-22 mph on the cable and are far smaller than required for a course to be installed.  It works like IWWF slalom 15' until you reach a divisional speed, and then they have 34 and 36 mph - but again cannot do that in the states unless there is a park I am unaware of with those speeds.  

Skiing the cable is very different I've only trick skied on it and I've done that a number of times but for instance my local place the cable runs most of the day at just over 20mph, they slow it down for a few small bits of the day but that's down to 16mph its like adult swim at the pool for 15 minutes.  I don't normally ride my trick ski at 16 or 20 so its either fast and slippery or slow and loose.