A wacky theory about A/B/C

Than_Bogan

• Supporting Member

Since I optimize parameters for a living (I specialize in making computer code run faster), it's probably no surprise that I'm a bit obsessed with this whole ZO parameter thing.

Today I had a thought that I found interesting, and figured I'd share it on the off chance that somebody else found it interesting.  It has to do with how A/B/C relates to line length.  As far as I know, this has nothing to do with 1/2/3, but perhaps someone will see some connection there.

(Before reading this, be sure to read the ABC/123 thread and see scoke and clemsondave's charts about what these parameters mean.  Otherwise you'll be pretty confused.)

The physics of slalom skiing dictate that, as the rope gets shorter, the skier's speed across the wakes increases.  Since the geometry of the course hasn't changed, a skier covering the same distance at a faster speed does so in less time -- i.e. the duration of the pull is shorter.

This then means that ZO has less time to work with during the pull phase.

If I can assume that the delay in correction that comes with B and A are constants, this then means that the correction is happening closer and closer to the next buoy as the rope gets shorter.

And so that leads me to theorize that the letter that allows the best performance may be closely related to line length.  At a long line, things are happening slower, both entering the pull (where a little delay might be beneficial to get body position set) and in the duration of the pull (so that a setting with a delay will still have enough time to get the job done).  Thus A might have some advantages for a longer line (although the meaning of "long" is contextual and can only be figured out from experience).