Favourite Tools for Ski Set-up

pgmoore

• Baller

Following a crash that took me out a few weeks ago, I have had a lot of time to contemplate skiing topics that had never previously occurred to me. One such topic is binding and fin settings.

I've had two and a half seasons on my 2012 Strada and have never put a moment's thought to the fin settings or binding placement. I simply picked it up from the dealer and went and skied. And frankly, that has worked out just fine.

But now I'm curious to see where things are at and how close the settings are to stock. I'm not necessarily proposing to mess around with things as I'm no expert at ski set-up. I just want to know where I sit.

What are your favourite calipers and wing angle gauges? I'm particularly interested in slot calipers (as opposed to traditional) as the measurements would seem to be much more repeatable. Any other tools I should be considering?

• Baller

Awesome! Thanks for the responses, guys!

I was thinking more along the lines of do you have a favourite brand or model of calipers, etc. Same with the other gauges.

Or maybe none are particularly better than the others.

• Baller
@pgmoore You asked! No favorite brand but I use an 8" affordable electronic caliper I bought online. I also made a slot caliper to measure DFT from an affordable 6" electronic caliper using a thin grinding wheel. You will want to get an 8" caliper to cover all the measurements. My angle gauges are from Booth Electrosystems Inc. and are metal.

• Baller
I agree with @thager. You want an 8" model calipers. Amazon has some that won't break the bank - especially given that for most it's not a tool used daily. If you use a wing you'll need the angle gauges like @ToddL notes - although I've wondered if you could use the level app available for smart phones these days.

• Baller

Goode Slot Caliper, if I was to buy a new caliper, because that seems to be the one a lot of specs are set with.