The fourth broken 404 in four years!

skialex

• Baller
I really prefer 404 over the newer ones but I break one every year, no crashes after the first one 4 years ago. I'm lucky but I also feel it and stop before the crash, I will put a 400 and see if it lasts! Anyone with similar issues?

• Baller
I have snapped a few over the years. The newer black releases from Reflex are stronger but after looking at the cost of a new release and binding as well from a safety aspect I settled on the OB4 System after breaking my last 404.

• Baller

I've been using 404 releases for 14 years and never had one snap but had 2 seize inside after using them in salt water.

I have seen one snap but the skier was a lot more aggressive skier than me.

• Baller

@DanE‌ @Waternut‌ I will try to explain the why, forgive any language mistakes, English is not my native language.

You know that all alpine bindings and boots manufactures have adopted a universal standardize fit for their products and for at least the last 50 years any boot fits to any binding, that is also the case with Silvretta. If you take the alpine version of 404 or 500 you can use them with any alpine boot but for the 500 in order to clip at the same position the release is attached to an extra lever which is attached on the plate. When you take the rear release only and use it on a Reflex plate the 400-404 clips like on an alpine boot whereas the 500 clips on the heel block on a different height that is why they made a new heel block for the newer models and you have to respect the 57mm otherwise the system can release without warning. I prefer the security that the 404 gives, furthermore on the 500 the spring brakes and you crash without knowing why ( they now change the spring to the 750).

I believe, to my opinion anyway, that 500-750 should be attached to different Bases to compensate for the height difference and not to a higher heel block.