Texas ski school recommendations

gt2003

• Baller
Or Oklahoma but I'm not finding anything here. I'm going to try the course this year as there is supposedly one on my home lake. I'd also like to spend a week at a ski school somewhere fairly close. I'm a course newbie, only freestyled to this point but ready to take it to "my" next level. I see there are a few schools in Texas. For the beginning course skier, give me recommendations on what you feel is best. It will just be me most likely so I don't need stellar accommodations. I would like to drink a few beers after the days skiing and either eat somewhere close or be able to cook/grill/smoke my own food. I've just gotten back into slaloming over this past summer. I'm 45 yrs old, fairly athletic and looking for my next challenge. You are the experts, give me some recommendations. Or, invite me to ski with you and I'll cook, bring beer and listen to what you have to say!

• Baller
Surprisingly, there really aren't many traditional ski schools in Texas. (By traditional, I mean the ones where you stay on site or nearby, and ski 2-4 sets per day for a week.) Trent is definitely an excellent coach who resides just south of Austin. He typically does lessons at the skier's lake. So, you will have to discuss options for being a guest on someone else's water.

• Baller
Thanks folks. I'm leaning toward DFW. It's quite close. I was thinking about lodging in a hotel close by but I'm almost tempted to stay onsite. I now realize I have a LONG way to go after reading about technique and watching videos on here. LOTS I'm doing wrong. I'm going to work on basics, post videos etc. for most of next summer then schedule a week maybe mid to late September to head to Texas. Should still be plenty warm then plus all the kids will be back in school.

• Baller