Minnesota guy new(ish) to waterskiing looking for a way to advance...

Fast351

• Baller

Hey guys,

I am new to BoS and as a way of introduction, I'm looking for some advise to get better at skiing...

A little about me: Just north of 40 on the age scale, been around water and boats all my life, started getting into towable watersports in the early 1990s first with a kneeboard, then around 2002, switched to wakeboarding, and also picked up surfing. More recently, my age has started to manifest itself in sore knees every time I wakeboard, so I started skiing, only to find I REALLY enjoy it! I've been skiing for about 6 years, took a class with Wade Cox a number of years ago who showed me the basics, and now ski with another guy on our lake every chance I get, but have never been on a course, and would like to get better.

So how do I go about it? I haven't really seen many waterski schools aside from real beginner stuff that a wakeboard school puts on or a week long camp aimed at teenagers. My goal is to eventually be good enough to run a course at a halfway decent line length, but for now I'll settle for just improving.

BTW, I have a 211 that we now mostly use for surfing west of the metro if anyone wants to come out and ride! I'd love to trade it off for a 200 but I think my wife would kill me. She loves to surf, and grudgingly skis once in a while :smile:

• Baller
Time on season kinda running out...windy the next number of days and off to Florida tourney next thursday thru monday. Most likely shutting down sometime shortly thereafter. If you contact me in the spring, though, happy to have you out. It may actually be best in spring as we usually do some free skiing prior to getting our courses installed after ice out. In just a set or two could give you lots to work on back home.

• Baller_