Beginner looking for feedback

david_quail

I got up on one ski for the first time 6 weeks ago!

Self taught on open lake and tried the course at 27MPH. 2 balls and then wasn't even close (and felt reckless for those 2 balls)

Would love some feedback on things to focus on from

I'm 6'0, 184lbs skiing on a Radar Alloy Senate 67. Got up on one ski 6 weeks ago and have been out 8 or so times since (behind a Bayliner 135HP - which I know isn't ideal).

Seems like I'm not stacked while crossing the wakes (bending forward at the waste). Weight maybe a bit on the back foot too much?

Lemme have it! Harsh feedback won't hurt my feelings. Bound and determined to get better. Have done a few cartwheels going over the wakes so would be lying if I said I wasn't a touch nervous crossing them aggressively.

• Baller

Looks good for just starting out! 2 things I would focus on before anything else:

1st, the most important thing I tell anyone that is just starting out is to always keep their shoulders and hips in alignment. Pretend they're connected by a steel rod that will keep you 'stacked.' This will reduce your headers and cartwheels. What I would do is not worry so much about crossing the wakes yet, instead I would do a pulling drill where you pull out to one side of the boat trying your best to achieve the perfect pull position. (It helps if someone in the boat is yelling at you to get your hips up, shoulders back, knees bent etc...) Once you have it down on one side switch over to the other. Do that until dropping into a good pull position feels natural and anything else feels wrong. Then you'll be ready to tackle the wake again.

2nd You look like your trying to steer yourself with the handle (moving the handle in the turn). Try reaching the handle towards the boat and turning back to it this will help you keep better balance in your transition from turn to pull.