Collecting data (load, acceleration, audio, visual) while waterskiing for AI project

david_quail

Hi folks,

I'm an avid albeit fairly beginner slalom skier and I'm doing my PHD in Reinforcement Learning (a branch of artificial intelligence). I've mostly used streams of sensorimotr data coming from a mobile robot for my experiments. But for the summer, I thought it might be fun to study data generated while skiing. Fun and it would allow me to say that I'm working on my PHD while water skiing!!! Yay less guilt skiing mid day during the week!!!

Do any of you have thoughts / experience collecting such data (I'm thinking line load, accelerometer, visual pixel data, etc). This would involve spending money on robotshop (another passion of mine) in an effort to instrument some combination of the ski, handle, pylon, myself. I seem to remember other threads which talked about monitoring speed, acceleration, load etc. I have lots of ideas but wondering what I may learn from others who have done so before ...

• Administrators

@david_quail

I spent a stupid amount of time on this before I understood that the hardware could not keep up with a skier and it was a waste of time.

• Baller

A smart pylon might be a very useful tool. Measure load and angle while keeping track of position in course. I'd use it as a coaching tool. The boat companies might need it to justify 100k boats.

My experience with the fish scale (the kind with a little ring to show peak loads) is too outdated to be useful. Interesting data...

Eric

• Baller

@david_quail are you looking to setup a means to collect data real time to interface with the AI, or are you just looking for some available data sets to feed it?