'19 Syndicate Omni: My Experience

mfjaegersr

• Baller

Summary: I'll update this as the season and my skiing progresses. I switched from an S2 to the Syndicate Omni with the expectation of accelerating my technique improvement and thus progress into short(er)line - precisely what the Omni is designed for. I've been banging away at 30/32/34 MPH for the last 4 years since un-retiring from skiing; last year saw a PB of 4@34/15 and ran 32/15 a total of 25 times (7 times in 2017). I almost never ski at 30 MPH because it feels sooooo......arduous! - like skiing through yogurt. The Omni is has changed that for me. Dramatically.

First Report:

5/2 - 8 passes; first day...which foot forward is it?

5/5 - 10 passes; gorgeous day. Felt a little bit like skiiing...

5/10 - Free skiing at 32/15...ahhh, ol' school. Getting a rhythm.

5/12 - Ran 30/15 back to back...off the dock, and again on the 6th/last pass, then again off the dock in the second set. I'd never run 4 complete passes in one day. That's a PB, no? Interesting...

5/14 - I should double check my fin, ensure it's still where I set it two weeks ago. (pause) Holy Shiesse! Face palm....the kind that leaves a red mark. It was sloppy loose on the leading edge, fully 1/8 deeper resulting in the wing being at 9.5* and other ! How 'bout another, redder mark. I'm thinking "How the ___? When did...? Hmm. If I skied well with it like THIS....?!?" (My buddy joked - 'what if you put it back to stock and then you ski like crap?!')

5/19 - Despite a week off, a tight low back, and cooler temps...I ran 30/15 off the dock again. And then again. And again. And again. 4 straight. Another PB of sorts. Verrrrry interesting.

It's still really early...and yet I've got a pretty good feeling about making my goal this season...running 34/15 - more than once - and getting to legitimately do that scissors thing... :-)