Radar Butter Knife

rodecon

• Baller

So I have a good friend of mine that is getting back into slalom skiing after a long hiatus (marriage, kids, career etc) and he is asking me if a Radar Butter Knife is a good choice? I have no experience with that ski and would love some advice.

Here is a little history:

My buddy used to be a fantastic free skier and the first double boot tournament ski I was ever on was his back in the 90's

He will mostly be free skiing but I will prob drag him into the course periodically

My gut tells me a Senate might be more suited to him as he was always on more high performance skis back in the day.......what say you?

• Baller
I would go Katana. I have a 67” Katana and ski it in the course at 30 mph and have skied it at 32. Another option might be the Union. I think the Butter Knife is too wide to ski the course faster than 26 or 28 mph.

• Baller

Have a Butterknife and a Senate...

Butterknife is an awesome, easy to ride ski...

However, I think your friend will be bored with it soon...Union, Katana or Senate would be my choices. If just REALLY wants an easy ski to get up on and free ski with it’s a great choice....

• Baller

If you think he's going to be getting right back into being a "fantastic freeskier" then you might consider getting him a vapor. However, if he's going to be trying to learn a course, then the vapor would not be the right choice. I wrote a position paper this weekend that might very well apply to him.

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1-NiENHZt0sC7WDBaeVk6QK9OJzQ4-DYISGE1h_PPjPI/edit?usp=sharing

For now, just throw him on your ski or on his old ski and get some video of freeskiing and/or in the course. With video, the recommendations here will be of much higher quality.

• Baller
I ski on a vapor... but I took a 69 butter knife out for a rip in the chop the other day and it was so fun. Different but for first turns, stability and time behind the boat it was great.

• Baller