PCM 6.0 oil

Cent

• Administrators
I was told to use the Pennzoil Platinum full Synthetic. 5 -30 or 10-30. I'm not a mechanic .... you might want to double-check with your local dealer.

• Baller_

I use the royal purple in my big hp engines.

However it gets real expensive when you have to change oil every 50 hours.

We put 300 hours a year on a boat. At over $9.00 a quart that's big money for an oil change. Down side to Royal purple is dont let it sit In the pan for long lengths of time without cycling the oil pump.

I have been Running 15-40 rotella in my 09 6.0, it now has over 1500 hours on it with no issues whatsoever. Dont know that I want to change to a lighter weight oil now.

• Baller
Just checked the PCM website and the manuals for the 2020 engines are now available. sure enough, now recommending Dexos 2 5w30. No more searching for the crazy combination of 15W40 diesel oil with the SM gas certification that oil makers have been dropping.

• Baller

PCM web page recommends 15w 40 conventional oil for all of their engines other than the XR7 and XS7; for the last two engines they recommend 5w30 synthetic.

So the conclusion is the 6.0 should have 15W 40. They recommend conventional oil in the manual; apparently on the basis that full synthetic has not been shown to have a benefit; they do say synthetic can be used but it is not a basis to extend the time between oil changes.

• Baller
Since Mobil 1 was first available in the 1970's, I run synthetic in everything I own that doesn't have oil mixed in the gas. Saves valves and carbon buildup like you can't believe. I would not change out at 50-hours except for the first oil change on a new motor. Mobil 1 ain't what she used to be, but Pennzoil and others consistently test pretty good.

• Baller

Oil weight is confusing for me as well. I have an LS1 and they originally specd 15w40 (Indmar) but I've been told I can run 5w30 as well. It would be running 5w30 in a Corvette or Camaro.