Thinking of switching to one foot start

Ski_Dad

• Baller

I use a RTP and have always gotten up with 2 feet in. Some days I nail my deep water starts, the next day I have issues.

I think I would like to try a 1 foot start. I'm not sure how to hold my free leg and how much throttle should the driver give me ?

• Baller
have you ever gotten up that way before? I used to do that growing up. It's way easier on your body than a double boot start. I've been two-hoofing it since about 2001 but if I'm skiing on a ski with a kicker just farting around on the lake with something other than my usual ski, I'll start dragging a leg every time.

• Baller
@Ski_Dad that is the only way I know how to deep water start. I can’t get up with both feet in to save my life. As @Bruce_Butterfield says, drag your rear foot like a rudder. Keep it close to your body and put in the rtp as soon as you are standing. Easy peasy.

• Baller
Learned that decades ago... Getting up behind a 35 horse boat. Did it again last summer after lumbar disc herniation. Drag the back foot like a rudder longer than you think is necessary , then step up on to back of ski and walk /squirm foot slowly up to toe loop. I like to practice both that and two foot start.

• Baller
I never got the whole rudder thing. When I start that way I leave my trailing leg behind me almost like I'm doing a split, then when it's go-boat I pretty much let it act like dead weight until it's time to stand up. Any time I'd try to "steer" with my drag leg I'd have unintended consequences.

• Baller