Swiss Pro Slalom - Sunday, May 5th, 2024

Click Here for the webcast

HydraPro GoPro control.

• Baller

About two years ago our little ski group here switched to using GoPro as a training tool and quickly realized that having a way to automatically start/stop recording a la Wakeye would be great to have for the newer GoPros. I'm a software engineer by trade, so I started this little project as a hobby project. It was not intended to grow into a real product, but with more interest coming from the waterski community and even more from the car enthusiast side, I decided that it was time to make it available in the mobile stores as a product.
Now after two years and hundreds of hours of testing/use later it is available for IOS and Android.

Features used for skiing.

• Start and stop recording at a configurable speed.
  • Force the GoPro preset selection to a configured preset.
  • Turn camera on/off from the app.
  • Supports GoPro Hero5 to Hero12. Hero4 only on IOS. If your phone can control the GoPro with the GoPro Quik app through Bluetooth, HydraPro will be able to control it as well.

More info: www.lakeshorelogic.com/hydrapro

• Like 3

I have used the HydraPro app extensively for the last 2 years, given I was a primary tester during development and beta of the app.  (I water ski 4 days per week, year round, with the software engineer who built the app.  We used the app every time we skied in order to watch GoPro videos to improve our skiing.)  I continue to use the app extensively and highly recommend it, especially if you want to use a speed setting to start/stop your GoPro and/or if you use multiple GoPros at the same time.

Comments on the app itself:  The app does a terrific job controlling the GoPro.  

• 1) It recognizes my specific GoPro and changes the recording settings to the defaults I specified in the app.  This is very helpful to get consistent GoPro recordings, even when I use the GoPro with other settings for other purposes.