vest/advice/rehab for low back issues

fpjl

• Baller
Started off new season with some low back pain. Now with numbness L4 distribution. Told I had bulging disk/torn annulus. Working on core stuff. Any advice on vests? Any advice on rehab? Midride ski? Giving it a few more weeks before I give it another shot. Thanks in advance for any advice.

• Baller_
I've been working on cars for 25 years, and know the low back pain thing well. Been doing this routine daily for years and it has made a huge improvement in my core. I also agree w/ Wish, the inversion table helps too, but core strengthening, and learning to ski with a strong, leveraged, stacked body position will lead to prevention of the dreaded low back issues. The black and orange vest should be a last resort IMO.

• Baller

Having owned a Goode Power Vest I can assure you it will allow you to ski with back problems when you otherwise could not. I had one of the first ones and found it rather bulky feeling. Since then they have developed the Elite Version which is less restrictive. Seems to work well for Dave Miller.

I strongly agree with Richard and there are a lot of good programs for core development which is essential..........ED

• Baller

I would advise you to be very careful with your low back.  I had a similar issue 6 years ago and decided to ski through it…It got worse.  If you can avoid surgery, that is your best option.  I ended up having surgery, which could have been avoided if I would have made better decisions and limited my skiing.  6 years later, I still struggle with low back pain.  Focus on your core and stretching.  I have tried just about everything and found that a good workout program and yoga seem to give me the best results.  Everyone is different, so you have to keep trying things until you find something that works for you.