Golfers elbow

Mazda

• Baller
Has anyone out there suffered from golfers elbow? I have been nursing a tender elbow for 2 years. I have tried icing, anti inflammatory drugs, rest and a steroid shot. The pain/stiffness never completely went away. With skiing season approaching I'm starting to panic that I will not recover. Has anyone successfully dealt with a similar condition?

• Baller

Try switching to a bent handle. That eased the stress on my elbows. I hate the bent handle for performance but my elbows are much happier. Just a couple of straight handle sets lights it up again.

Youth is wasted on young people!

Eric

• Baller
The use of a radius handle has helped mine quite a bit. I will add that I switch to a baseball grip (both hands over the top of the handle) when I am getting pulled out of the water and then again at my pull out at the end of my pass. I have also began using the arm bands on both my forearms which I am told helps preventatively, but not much after the inflamation begins. Other than that, I have to deal with it and it is really tough to make disappear once it starts. Last season was my best in several years due to implementing the above measures however.

• Baller

Yep. I've had it for a couple of years. I skied most of last year with a tennis elbow strap similar to this one:link Seems to help a lot.

Also, start with both palms down - this will also help. I'm betting it's in your "up" arm, usually left elbow for rff skiers.

• Baller
I've had it bad a few times, the cleaner I ski, the less it affects me. I also went to getting up with both palms down. For me, eliminate the "hits" and the elbow feels pretty good, if I'm doing splash turns and not controlling the rope, the elbow feels like sheet.

• Baller

This sidelined me for a year and a half after screwing mine up while playing football with the kids. Knifing pain just coming out of the water (with hands on top).