Current Promo Boat Rules

jdarwin

• Baller
There is a shortage of promo boats across the country. For those of us who host tournaments, it is becoming increasingly difficult to find boats to pull our events. Should AWSA change the rule or should the boat manufacturers address with AWSA to resolve for 2017?

• Replies 124
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I am a Promo boat owner and have a 2014 Prostar that is a beautiful boat, strong, fast and everyone loves skiing and driving it. I'm in my 3rd year with this boat. Boat prices have increase so much that it's difficult to resell them in today's economy. Manufacturer's and dealers should take an active roll in reselling these boats, put them in the Promo's hands and if they don't sell within two years, swap them out for the new model.

Putting the whole financial burden on the Promo is what's killing the program. I shouldn't have to be out of pocket thousands of dollars to promote the brand and the sport.

• Baller
@Chuck_Dickey - I hear that all the time from the current promo members. No factory support. But, let AWSA start down the road to eliminating the 2 year rule and the Big 3 will be in Orlando crying croc tears. You can't have it both ways, boys. Either eliminate the rule or support your promo programs. You are killing the tournament scene with this antiquated rule.

• Baller_

I think this an example of crony capitalism at its worst. The boat manufactures are forced to pay a large fee to have each boat configuration tested and approved for tournament use. The last number I heard was $10k per configuration, but that was several years ago and word of mouth so I won't swear by it.

The boat companies need some ROI to justify the test cost, so they negotiate with usaws to require current year boats at tournaments.

This benefits usaws and the boat companies, but at the expense of the members.

Time for a change.

If it was easy, they would call it Wakeboarding