Prostar exhaust smells

Timber

• Baller

Hi

I have an '14 Prostar with 5.7l and from day one the exhaust smell like "rotten eggs". I tried gasoline 91 octane with no success. The dealer don't know what to do and the warranty end soon. Somebody have the same problem? the odor has become unbearable...

• Baller
Check with an expert before you straight pipe it. I believe (but I'm no expert) that there are sensors that measure temperature, oxygen levels, etc. from the catalytic converters for use by the ECM. I used to own a '14 Prostar, and I believe the warranty was five years from the date it was put in service as a new boat.

• Baller

Change your driver's diet.

It is possible to illegally bypass the catalytic converter. But the parts to do that are not cheap. And you will have a lot of conversion work. Better to replace the stock parts when they fail.

Do check your voltage. @Drago has good advice but that's a problem you don't want to let go.

Contaminated fuel might be the problem. But it should pass through. If you don't have a trouble code forcing the boat into limp mode your cat might be OK. Get it nice and hot with a long high speed run and maybe you can burn off all the sulfur.

Take it in at the end of the season to a mechanic with the code reader if it still stinks. A bad cat will reduce power and economy a bit but shouldn't damage more than the cat. Ski it until you can't.

@Jody_Seal might be able to quote you prices on a new cat. I couldn't find anything online.

Keep us posted on your situation.

Eric

• Baller