Which one is the better choice?

pjnyk

Hey guys, so previous lines we had on boats didn’t work out so now we’re presented with a few new options. Again, wondering how these will be for slalom and if they’re going to be footable long line/short rope.

So the current options are as follows:

- 98’ PS205, 700hr, 310 motor

- 02’ Moomba outback 21’, 500hr, 310 assault carb (don’t remember if it has the wake plate)

- 03’ Mastercraft X7, wakeboard edition, 310 EFI , 245hr

- 06’ tige 20i, 350hr, 315hp merc EFI

Just looking for general opinions at this point. I have some knowledge on the PS205 already and I’m aware that it has the Xstar hull. Also been reading on the X7, I know it’s the same as the 197 but with a few options added on.

Any opinions are appreciated. Right now I have the Moomba or tige at #1/2.

Cheers

• Baller

97 PS205 would be awesome, I'd skip the 98 personally.

I'd probably go X7 based on the popularity of MC brand and its low hours.

The 20i Tige just never had much market saturation and I think people regardless of what they say are sometimes goofy about carb'd boats. You'll be able to sell it but you seemt o get people who want fuel injection.

With 197/x7 does anyone recall if there was an update in 2004?

• Baller
@MISkier That's what I'm wondering, was the hook on all hulls for 03? I thought they started adding hook to the TT edition boats for one year and then updated the hull for the rest of the years. For some reason I thought 2003 was the year that only TT hulls got hooked - which would change my answer because the hooked boats seem a lot better.

• Baller_

The hook is a small curvature or “lip” across the bottom of the hull at the stern. The purpose was to smooth out or flatten the wake by increasing the wetted surface of the hull. It is intended to improve skiability.

You can read about it here. Look for the entry dated 4-7-2009 at 12;21PM

https://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/showthread.php?t=29236&page=2